URL Parser

Apr 30, 2009 at 8:49 AM
I'm new to the whole idea of using parsers in general but have been reading a lot the past few days and find it extremely useful and interesting.  Most of the documentation I'm seeing refers to simply monitoring (I do understand that the name is Network Monitor..)  But I'm wondering if in any way you can modify packets that meet certain criteria.  For example writing a URL sniffer to allow certain URLs (msdn, yahoo, etc) and block others (.contains(graphic-material)).  It seems very plausible to write a parser that can parse out packets containing data from a white-list or black-list - I'm just wondering given the APIs if it would be possible to modify packets to filter out HTTP requests.

The basic approach from one developer and one attempt using winsock libraries is described below.

[ from http://www.codeproject.com/KB/IP/HTTPFilter.aspx ]

The solution is fairly simple. The following sequence is used to filter a matched web request:
  1. Capture packets.
  2. Distinguish TCP packets which are destined to port 80 or 8080.
  3. Look for a 'GET /' in the first four bytes of the data. If not found, continue with the next captured packet.
  4. Perform a Boyer-Moore pattern match over the data against the blacklist keywords. If not found, continue with the next captured packet.
  5. Send a TCP reset to the server and a block page to the client.
[end]

If anyone is having any pointers it'd be appreciated.  Thanks in advance.

Nick
May 1, 2009 at 2:14 PM
The Network Monitor driver is a filter driver which means it only looks at the packet but doesn't affect their content.  It seems you want block the traffic, which would not be possible with the API.  However you could certinaly view the traffic and only capture traffic based on your algorithm above.  That would be fairly striaght forward.  But the outcome would be a capture file with only information you allowed to pass.